A 4YO - Suggestions please on working & then turning away

jaquelin

Visit site
I know the young horse is often backed and "turned away" ( somewhat definition-free phrase, methinks), but what about working a 4YO post backing for a period of time and then turning away? I have just got an RID, who I suspect may/should end up much bigger than he is at present. I am not experienced in this, having usually bought older horses.
I was thinking of working him gently for a period now, through Spring-Summer perhaps, lots of groundwork, polework, and a bit of exposure to shows, ridden hunter classes, walk & trot dressage, and then maybe giving him autumn-winter off, to chill out and grow more.
Does this sound suitable? Would it be sensible to shorten the working season? How will he respond when he is brought back in as a 5YO? If anyone who has done this and can give me any advice & guidance it would be much appreciated.

Grey_Eventer

Visit site
I also usually buy older horses, but have just bought a 4 1/2 year old. He was backed a little later as was expected to grow bigger, but didn't. I did wander whether turning away would be a good idea- but the guy who owned him (olympic event rider) suggested that keeping him going would be good, unless he shows signs of needing to be turned away.

I think you just have to go on what the horse is telling you- if they suddenly become stale/unresponsive/difficult, maybe they need some time off. Just listen to the horse I think- what I am going on with my new one anyway! He is currently very happy, enjoying his work and generally loving life, so we are going to get him out competing and see what happens!

g&tanyone?

Visit site
I have just done this with my boy! I bring him back in sort of march time so I will let you know!!! However I will say I worked he was telling me he was happy but come the August I could tell he needed a real break!

Abacus

Visit site