adjustable saddles?

mrsk29

Visit site
Im saving up to buy my boy a gp leather adjustable saddle and wondered what everyones thoughts are on them and which are best?

Hes a tb and changes shape alot through the year, currently I have an adjustable wintec which seems ok for now.

Thanks

debsg

Visit site
I have a Kent and Masters leather adjustable saddle on my 5 yr old TB mare. The tree is the same as the Thorowgood one. I have had it for a year and I am very pleased with it.

Cortez

Tough but Fair
Visit site
I have a slightly unusual saddle which has an adjustable head, it can be made wider or narrower on a "screw" system using an allen key. Allows very flexible adjustment and can be used on a wide variety of horses. But just to mention that saddles have to fit in more places than just at the withers.

abbijay

Visit site
Another vote for the Kent & Masters! I love my high wither GP for my very funny shaped pony, saved me a small fortune in 'new' saddles. I'll be honest they're not the best saddle in the world but reasonably priced, good quality and within their range there is something to suit many horses.

Charlotte150

Visit site
We use bates or collegiate gp changeable gullet saddles, I prefer the collegiate one as it fits my fine Irish cross right through to a very stocky fjord very comfy too.:)

sbloom

www.stephaniebloomsaddlefitter.co.uk
I have a slightly unusual saddle which has an adjustable head, it can be made wider or narrower on a "screw" system using an allen key. Allows very flexible adjustment and can be used on a wide variety of horses. But just to mention that saddles have to fit in more places than just at the withers.

Ditto. I'd always recommend having a saddle fitter check the saddle, I've seen too many people change the gullet for the wrong reasons eg to bring the saddle into balance, without regard to whether the tree is actually the right width or not.