Adults riding with teenagers

dwi

Visit site
This probably doesn't occur as an issue to most people but as a teacher I'm very conscious of it.

If I go out on a hack with a teenager from our yard could I be held responsible if I suggested a canter and then she had an accident?

At school I can't talk to a child in a room on their own, certainly cannot have their mobile number or email address and have to fill out a three page form to visit the local park because my career would be over if they had an accident and I hadn't taken precautions.

We have a teenage girl moving to our yard which should be great as its a small yard and there aren't many people to a hack with and she will be replacing a lame horse.

Does anyone know legally wether the adult in the group is seen as responsible for the safety of anyone under 16 hacking out with them? I know it sounds silly but I'm kind of attached to my career.

Clodagh

Visit site
At least you are cleared to be with teens!
I would speak to her parents, sounds nuts but agree with you, todays litigeous (spell?) world...perhaps a disclaimer? Don't know, you need a legal expert!

LauraBR

Visit site
OMG the world has gone mad
confused.gif

phoebelgrant

Visit site
As horse riding is a high risk sport surely any parent will realise the dangers and not take action against you if anything was to happen or is that living in the past? I agree with clodagh and get some sort of agreement written up making sure your not at risk.

GTs

Visit site
I used to know, ride out, and give rides home to all the teenagers at the barns. I never really worried about it, just if they were under 16 I would want to meet their parents before I drove them home.

sorona

Visit site