Advice about loaning and competing

charlotte0916

Visit site
Hello all, this is my first time posting so I hope I do it all correctly!
I am looking for advice as an experienced rider looking to do more competing somehow! I have ridden for 10yrs and am now looking to get into competing again after a long break from it since I was very young. My question is; do you think it would be possible to find a loan horse with which to compete in unaffiliated/affiliated in a little bit of everything? I will be going to university in 2yrs time and am currently doing a levels so I was wondering what people think would be possible to find/possible time wise? Thank you for any help at all! :)

FfionWinnie

Visit site
If you are a good rider there are plenty of chances I think. I've got several horses and would welcome finding someone decent to ride one. If they were improving the horse (or at least maintaining it!) I wouldn't mind transporting to shows and lessons and I wouldn't charge (they would have to pay their own fees tho).

helenchat

Visit site
I suppose that depends - are you looking just to compete someone's horse,or are you looking to take on a horse on full loan and then compete it yourself ?
I think both are out there, although the first is probably a bit harder to find, as often if people want someone to compete their horses for them they are often after a more professional rider than themselves. But I have seen lots of adverts around offering part loans/ 2 day a week shares with the possibility to compete - so they do exist!
As for the second, my sister and I have 3 horses between us and they are all on loan, and they all compete regularly. They are all older, (one of them is a down graded 3* eventer for example), but they have taken us to a variety of competitions including pony and riding club championships.