Advice from those with experience of pony mares (13hh) please!!

Mugsgame

Visit site
I have aquired a lovely 13hh riding pony mare (Bwlch Zephr x Westacre Concerto) to accompany my retired pony, and the aim is to breed from her this year or next.

It has just occured to me that I have no experience in breeding smaller mares, and several things are worrying me! For a start, I would like to cover her with a stallion I know well, but her is, um, rather well endowed (!!) and would certainly not cover her naturally... We could collect from him with very few problems, and he is very well mannered. BUT! She is so fine, I am less than happy about scanning her - does anyone have any advice in this situation? Her business area is not all that different in size to my 11.2hh!

I am certain we could collect and inseminate her as required, and could tease her until she goes off, tease her when next season would be due etc, but how to people check for twinning and other problems in smaller mares?

Any advice or experience would be great - I am probably making mountains out of molehills but it is bothering me!!

the watcher

Visit site
Lovely breeding!

I'm sure her size will not present enormous problems in respect of scanning, although it is possibly slightly less popular amongst pony breeders than horse breeder there must be enough pony mares scanned for it to be possible and done quite regularly

holiday

www.bathleyhillfarmlivery.com
I would personally speak to your vet re scanning, usually a lady vet will scan with no problems and some of the little mares are quite roomy inside for the vet mostly 13hh are not too bad to scan its the smaller mares that the vets struggle with. My view would be have a word and go on their advise.

We scan plenty of smaller mares but do try to pick the right vet!!!!! As we have a lady and a gent vet!!!

She sounds lovely breeding!!!!

Visit site