Advice on buying young horse

G192

New User
Visit site
Hi, I have a couple of years riding experience with my own horse who has been very uncomplicated. There is a young horse for sale in my area with a lovely temperament that I am contemplating buying and backing myself. Looking for thoughts and advice.

Apercrumbie

Visit site
If you are a) exceptionally patient b) very confident with a lot of nerve and c) willing to admit when you need professional help and have the resources to pay for it then I would say you could consider getting a youngster. If you are doubtful on any of the three, please don't.

Groundwork is often neglected with horses and it is a mistake with young horses. Get them really listening to you and obedient on the ground and you will be better set up for backing. I'll leave the more specific advice to others with more recent experience!

G192

New User
Visit site
Ok thanks. My experience is mainly hacking, lessons and I’ve been to a few shows where I’ve done clear rounds on my mare. She’s about 15 and has been really good but I like the idea of training a horse myself from the start. Hoping to get up to a reasonable level competing

AdorableAlice

Visit site
Ok thanks. My experience is mainly hacking, lessons and I’ve been to a few shows where I’ve done clear rounds on my mare. She’s about 15 and has been really good but I like the idea of training a horse myself from the start. Hoping to get up to a reasonable level competing

Some breeds are more forgiving in temperament than others, with your level of experience you really do need to obtain a lot of help with your hopes and wishes for dreams to come to a safe and happy end result.

Apercrumbie

Visit site

What AdorableAlice said. Training a horse how to do things calmly and safely is very different from asking a reasonably well-trained horse to do those same things. Tbh you will have to train yourself/be trained in how to train a young horse. It's important that you keep that in mind.

G192