Advice on foals with mares/geldings, experiences please

claire1976

Visit site
I am putting my mare in foal next summer and looking for advice please.
Would she be OK being the only one with a foal?
There will be my mare, a pony mare and either another mare or a gelding.
I would keep them seperate for first few months where they can see others but not be mixed.
I've heard that its not advised to just have one foal as they need others to play with?
Also heard that other mare's can steal foal and geldings can attack.
confused.gif

My mare has had 2 foals with previous owner before, but this is my first time and want to make sure I'm doing the right thing.
Any stories/advice would be appreciated.
smile.gif

k9h

Visit site
We had no problem running our mares with foal (even just the one foal at a time only once did we have 2 mares foal in same year with a couple of months between them) in a herd of 25 equal mix of mares & geldings, they never got stolen or hurt & I personally think it is best for a foal to grow up ina herd as they learn manners & respect. If you have any concerns check out Lucinda Mcalpines website just google her name.

filly190

Visit site
Clare, studs only put mares and foals out together, otherwise they are kept on their own.

I would not advise chancing it with the others

Tia

Visit site
I've never had a problem with this. What I find is that usually it is the gelding who becomes a kid again and is the one who is more than happy to play with the youngster.

burtie

Visit site
It is preferable to have at least one other foal to play with. Also don't see the mixed herd being a big issue, but I would never ever ever turn a foal out with a SHOD horse.

S_N

Visit site
[ QUOTE ]
but I would never ever ever turn a foal out with a SHOD horse.

[/ QUOTE ]

Took the words right out of my mouth!

joy

Visit site