Advice on Likits/ Salt licks for feild horse

NewerRider89

Visit site

Hi all,
I've just started to loan an ex racehorse from a local rescue center.
He is in a feild on his own all day on only gets to do something different on the days I visit him.
I was thinking of buying him Likit/ and/or salt lick, and tying it to the fence where I tie him to be groomed as a treat/ and some mental stimulation.
Is this a good idea? I know they are meant for stabled horses, but he's not all that happy about being tied up so I thought it could be something for him to look forward to.

Or would a salt lick be a better idea? He's fed hay, and the lady at the center has started giving him hard feed now he is on loan. (He's very skinny, you can see his ribs and he has nexto no hindquarters) He only does light work, lunging or riding for 20 mins-ish. Would he need a salt/mineral lick?

-Sorry for the essay, but I am new to all this horsey business, so if you have any recommendations, please help :)

- Also, do you have any recommendations as to something I can give him to give his health a boost. I'm not the one that feeds him, so it'd have to be something I can give him.

- One more thing (sorry), anyone tried the Likit snack-a- balls for horses in the feild? Are they a good idea, or do they just roll under the fence and torment the horse that can't reach them?

Thanks

Theocat

Visit site
If he's skinny, is there a reason why he wasn't on hard feed before you loaned him?

What do you mean by "give his health a boost"? If you just mean putting more weight on, it's just a question of more food, appropriate rugging, and not too much work.

Is he still living at the rescue centre? TBH the best stimulation for him would be other horses for company - can you tell us a bit more about the set up so we know what's possible?