Another Saddle fit woe post :(

BethanT

Visit site
So I have been using the same saddle fitter for about 2 years now, after a disaster with the one before it took me a while to find someone I liked the sound of and was recommended by people I trust and do similar things with their horses.

I thoroughly agree with their methods, more remedial fitting, and so the idea is that you fit wider and use shims to make up the difference - allowing the horses back muscles to expand and develop with work rather than be inhibited. I understand that this isn't the conventional way to saddle fit and I know a lot of people don't and won't agree with it. But it has worked for me and my horses over the past two years, and the shape of my horses' back has changed so much for the better. Before he had a lot of muscle atrophy from the previous fitter fitting the saddle as he was without assessing what he was like after work. I agree that a saddle should be fitted based on what the horses profile looks like after work as well as before.

I went up to see the fitter in February as my saddle was starting to move back - a sign that the saddle was too wide. They adjusted the flocking and we played around with the different pads I have, and I went away happy with what we had. But a few weeks later the saddle was still slipping and my horse was getting grumpy to saddle up. At the time I put this down to more hind gut/ulcer symptoms as he was in no way reactive over his back on massage or with the physio. I messaged fitter to arrange for them to come out to me ASAP or me to them, but proved difficult to find a slot that suited both of us. I have just started a new job so limited with the time off I can take, leaving weekends really, but as you can imagine these are high in demand.