Anyone gone back to a RS after a confidence knock? *long*

Mince Pie

Visit site
I have been riding for over 17 years now, worked as a breaking rider, work rider for a racehorse trainer, rode fit eventers, started a couple of my own youngsters and reschooled one mare and I'm in the process of re-training my ex racer.

Millie (the TB) as you can imagine from being a racehorse has never been used to hacking out on her own. She hacks out fine in company and has a pretty chilled out attitude to life. I have been hacking her in company and have taken her out on her own round the block at the yard which takes about 20 minutes. Up until today she has been fine if a bit 'looky' and will walk on with a little encouragement, but today she practically turned herself inside out spinning and plunging and ended up doing several vertical rears (a la PS's CS) at which point I got off and started to lead her back to the yard. I did get back on after a couple of minutes and rode her back to the yard but when we got back I got off and burst into tears :(

I then took Ollycob out for a hack to try and put myself back onto an even keel, but he was very spooky and at one point span 180* and bolted up the lane. Again I got off and had a mini-meltdown at the side of the lane then started walking him home, but then got on again and finished our hack but I was shaking the whole time and he was getting more and more stressed out because I was so worked up. :(

I have never been in this situation before and I hate it :( So I have booked a hack for next Friday at a local RS to try and sort myself out before it turns into a 'complex' and I have a lesson from my instructor on Tuesday anyway so hopefully will be able to have him come out with me on foot with Millie after my lesson on Olly.

Could really do with some tea, tissues and a kick up the bum right about now please? :(

Gracie21

Visit site