Anyone here have a rescue horse? What's your story!

Popos

Visit site
I'm pretty new to this forum so thought I'd see if there were some on here in similar position to me!

All ours are a sort of rescue in some way or another.

We started off my taking on two miniature shetties after their owner could no longer care for them. Took on a third miniature when a local school wanted rid and no one would take her on. Finally got a 'real' horse this year, a 17hh Irish draught x after another local school couldn't use him and couldn't keep him any longer, they had rescued him after his owner was going to have him shot when he went lame (ex eventer-16yrs). They kept him out of work for a year and he is now my happy hacker and I love him to bits! He looks rather funny next to the miniatures.

I've been riding for over 20 yrs but this is my first year of being a horse owner and I'm learning more every day. We've had the minis for approx 5 years.

After a year off he is doing well now and has enjoyed the occasional canter. I'm hoping to get him back into work a little more in the summer and have some grand ideas of competing in novice dressage with him to end his days. Plan is to keep him here as his forever home and he can become a companion at some point that I'm allowed and feel confident enough to have a bought horse!

Highlands

Visit site