Autistic child coming to play with pony, what do I do with them?

DizzyDoughnut

Visit site
My friend asked if she could bring her husbands autistic nephew to see my shetland because she thinks it might help him.... i said ohh yes of course bring him down whenever you want.

Now I'm not good with children, they scare me, they are fine at a safe distance but I have no idea what to do with them which wouldn't be so much of a problem except my friend is also rubbish with kids... was hoping the childs mum would be coming as well so i could just do the pony bit and the mum could do the child handling part but sadly thats not happening.

The pony did have another small child that came to play but he was quite happy to tell you what he wanted to do and spent about 2 minutes on the pony and the rest of the time chatting to her and leading her around jumping in every puddle he could find, while the pony walked him to the next patch of grass.

So my question is what on earth do I do with the child? brush the pony, ride it? what else?

Help

Rebels

Visit site
How old is child? It would depend on which end of the spectrum he is on and how communicative he is. Maybe he could take the pony for a walk either ridden or led and you can point out anything interesting. Or lay a simple treasure hunt like find a round stone, piece of straw etc

B_2_B

Visit site
Everything :)

I'm sure he will let you know if he does or doesn't want to do something.

Let him have the chance to put headcollar on, definitely lead pony around, grooming, ride.
Can you set up a sort of course maybe slalom in and out of cones, mini jump to lead her over? We do little activities like that with the kids doing Equine therapy.

I don't know your pony, but you may well find she'll act a bit differently with him, take the lead and hopefully they'll become best friends :D

Lovely thing for you to let him come up to meet her, ponies can be the ultimate medicine for kids like him :)

Enfys

Visit site