Avoiding dreaded flies

Walnuts

Visit site
I am quite new to horse ownership but remember last year the heat and the flies. I suffer bad reactions to horse flies and would appreciate any advice on this topic for both horse and rider plus suggestions on good products that keep the bastard things away would be fab

Equi

Visit site
Last year was the worst i had ever seen them and frankly i found nothing to stop them. If its as bad this year im genuinely considering a light trap to try and kill the buggers off as much as possible. I had a fly rug on the horse, but lifted it off and a swarm flew out from it so that was scrapped and i just stuck to a major deet filled spray. Jungle super strength works well for the humans, but be warned it melts most plastics and ruins clothes lol

Red-1

I used to be decisive, now I'm not so sure...
Visit site
Last summer the flies were the worst I had known them too, I rode out from 4.30am onwards. Most days 5.30, but obviously if I wanted a longer ride before work it had to be earlier!

Horse flies must have a lie-in because I rarely saw more then 1 or two at that time of the day, whereas later on she would have at least 6 at a time eating her, and they got be through my breeches too.

I did find that stripey sheets attracted less, although I don't know why that should work as they are supposed to hunt bu carbon dioxide and heat, so striped blankets should not work, but they did.

blitznbobs

Visit site
Hydrocortisone cream and an antihistamine as soon as possible after you get bitten I literally keep a tube in my pocket as I react badly too.... this keeps them down to a normal bite rather than my whole arm/leg/ whatever swelling up.

TheHairyOne

Visit site
I have just got something called flypor from my vet (for cattle so prescription needed) which apparently doesnt just repel them but also kills anything that ignores it, including horseflies.