Behaviour, Pain or Pilot Error?

On the Hoof

Visit site
Firstly the history and some facts. Sorry this is long for some simple questions but hopefully
will give the full picture.

Horse is 15, diagnosed with bilateral hock arthritis - arthritis is mild. At the time she was also slightly lame on right fore but after 6 weeks rehab after hocks medicated the foreleg was fine and no further investigations made. She had a bone scan as part of original diagnostics and there was some take up at insertion point of suspensory in right fore but no X-Rays done on this leg.

As normal work resumes horse shows reluctance to canter on right rein, put down to pilot error ( she had dumped me on right rein canter before hinds investigated so I am nervous of asking her, it's also rein I’m most unbalanced on). Decide to start once a week schooling with more experienced rider (im a novice) to get her working from behind more and sort right rein canter issue. Rider was able to get canter but horse did try and drop her shoulder a few times. Put down to behaviour/habit from remembered pain as this rider is able to push her through reluctance

After hocks re-medicated in April and I am still having problems with RR canter by late April Im thinking this isn’t just me and she may be in pain so I do a bute trial and on day three of two sachets a day I ask for and get canter on the right rein no problem – so its pain right ?.