Bitless Bridle - Headshaking

BorgRae

Visit site
Hi,

Ok so, my lad is a headshaker, he does it pretty much all year round so am going to try a bitless bridle to see if it makes a difference.

My question is, before forking out a lot of money on one to try, does it make a difference which "type" of bitless bridle?

I have no knowledge of bitless bridles, so am pretty much clueless :eek:

I've seen some that range from £20 to £120!! :eek:

Is there really that much difference in the style? Obviously quality will be different, but then you can buy £20 normal bridles that are ok!! :p

So, those of you with headshakers that use bitless bridles to ease the shake, what types do you have and how much were they?

Thanks all!!

... I'm on a diet so can offer a satsuma or apple if you got this far :D

ridefast

Visit site
I have a sidepull bitless bridle, it works the same way as a snaffle bridle except pressure is across the nose rather than in the mouth. I didn't get it specifically to stop head shaking as mine only did it a little, but have noticed that since riding in it she's stopped headshaking anyway. It was about£50 on ebay

Dumbo

Visit site
My sidepull stopped my horse head shaking.
The sidepull is basically a headcollar. Works purely by nose pressure. Reins are attached either side of the nose. It's the mildest and in my opinion the best!
The dr cook crossover (or many other similar style) is quite popular but also known for not releasing quickly. It works by nose and poll pressure and uses a 'head hugging' effect.
The scrawbrig is another very mild one. The reins are attached under the chin so steering isn't fab initially but as with all the bitless bridles you need to ride much more with your body.
The hackamore (and there's many different types) are more severe as they have shanks.
Send me a pm if you want more info or have a look at www.bitlessandbarefoot.com