Bitting advice?

ridersince2002

Visit site
Just wondered if anyone had any bitting/tack ideas for the pony i ride as ive got my first ever hunter trials/xc on her in a few weeks and some controll would be nice :)
Shes 12.3hh, 16 y/o, short neck, extreeeeemly strong. At the moment shes in a waterford gag with a really tight running martingale and still strong, first few weeks in this bit she was lovely but after a few months shes susssed it out and evades it. She puts her head in the air and opens her mouth. Some people have said try a flash, but i dont think it would help much, only make her worse if im honest because shes so argumentative (and i admit thats probably partly my fault as when i started riding her i was stubborn, argumentative and about 11 so everything had to happen my way :mad: ).

Ive had her in a dutch gag, french link snaffle, jointed kimblewick, wilkie snaffle with sweet iron and all sorts of copper bits and peices on it for her to play with. Nothing seems to work, and i would idealy like to school her out of it but i need controll to school her and at the moment she treats our schooling sessions like a session on the gallops :S
I'll try to put some pictures in but not sure wheather it'll work or not :S
also i like to try and do a bit of local showing with her and cant use a martingale for that, and cant really get away in a waterford snaffle much longer and have been told many times that its not a suitable bit to show her in :p
Gosh this is long!
I think i'll post the pictures as a reply to this as it will only let me put one on :S

Bowen4Horses

www.poppywebber.co.uk
i think you'll get a lot of replies that say you need to work on the schooling instead of over-bitting and over-tight training aids... but you've already mentioned that you want to school her out of it, so that's a good start!