Book recommendations for intro to Horse Psychology

AdeleSK

Visit site
Hello!

I am very new to the horsey world and would love to learn more about horse psychology and behaviour. Especially interested in newer, more gentle schools of thought and particularly those of the R+ nature if anyone can recommend anything else. Had a scour through amazon but am just a bit overwhelmed!

Many thanks,

Adele

fburton

Visit site
Hi Adele, a couple of questions... Are you interested in the natural behaviour of horses (ethology) or more concerned with how to use that knowledge in training? And how academic/scientific are you prepared to get?

For natural behaviour, I would recommend Horses in Company by Lucy Rees (who wrote the classic The Horse's Mind, now long out of print although second hand copies can still be found).

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Horses-Company-Lucy-Rees/dp/1908809566

For a book that includes applied behaviour/training content, Abigail Hogg's Horse Behaviour Exposed is very good in my opinion.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Horse-Behaviour-Exposed-Abigail-Hogg/dp/0715332945

There's a new book out called Equine Behaviour in Mind: Applying Behavioural Science to the Way We Keep, Work and Care for Horses, edited by Suzanne Rogers. I know Suzanne and several of the contributing authors and they are all experienced and knowledgeable horsepeople, and Ben Hart is well known as an R+ practitioner. I haven't read it yet (I've just ordered a copy!) but it looks good from what can be seen with 'Look inside' on Amazon.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Equine-Behaviour-Mind-Applying-Behavioural/dp/1789180074

There are other more academic textbooks that go into great detail, but are also more expensive. Paul McGreevy's Equine Behavior: A Guide for Veterinarians and Equine Scientists (2nd Edition) and Equitation Science by Paul McGreevy, Janne Winther Christensen, Uta König von Borstel and Andrew McLean are two that stand out.