buying a saddle advice needed

dusty1967

Visit site
Hi

I have at last found a horse to buy and, if he passes vetting, will need to buy tack for him.

He is 4 at the moment, 5 in March, and is 16.1/2hh with good bone ISH.

Saddles seem to range from cheap to astronomically expensive! I do want leather but will just be hacking with the odd day hunting thrown in and won't be doing much jumping.

I'm a 6'2" man weighing 14.5 stone. I have been riding for 2 years and it would be nice to find a nice comfy saddle that gave you the secure deep seat feeling if there was such a thing?

Any suggestions as to saddle make / type would be gratefully received. I guess I also have to consdier that at 4 he still has a bit of filling out to do?

Thanks!

domino.jpg

Rb1

Visit site
I'm definitely no expert but at least this will bump the thread for you!
I would get a second hand, cheapish, mid range general purpose saddle to begin with and see how you get on with the make/style/size and everything then possibly get a new or newer second hand one after a year or so as I imagine he will fill out a bit more. Might be stating the obvious but make sure you get any saddle properly fitted.
Lovely horse by the way! :)

AmyMay

Situation normal
Visit site
I'd get a good saddler to come out to you and fit a 2nd hand saddle to the horse.

Lovely looking by the way.

Tinsel Trouble

Grantham (please don't judge me! originally from S
Visit site
Where in the country are you? You are best off looking at the Worshipful Company of Saddlers website to find a fitter near you and discussing your options with them!

Personally I love the Albion K2 GPs. lovely deep seat and you can get your leg long. If you get the Genesis K2 saddle you can have the head plate adjusted as your donkey changes shape!!

Also, if you let us know the area of the country people could recommend fitters for you!

Tinsel Trouble

Visit site