Calling PC mums....esp North Cotswold?!

McNally

Visit site
I wish to pick your brains!

My daughter really wants to join the pony club. I've looked at the web site and printed membership forms but have a few wonders!

1, The badges- look like fun but where/how are they achieved? *(also the tests. I think my daughter would be able to do the first ones straight off)
2, Are all the kids amazing little riders on expensive ponies? The few we know who go to rallies etc are and im worried my daughter who's pretty self taught and has a green youngster may struggle to keep up- doing her confidence no good?
3, How much do the activities that you take your pony too cost?
4, I personally have no towing vehicle and cant afford one tbh so we rely on my husband to drive if we take the pony anywhere but he's a farmer so in summer works 24/7 Can you generally lift share a bit or is this going to be a huge problem?

What do children actually gain/do at pony club? I never went as a child.
Thanks!

legaldancer

Visit site
I'm a PC Mum and was in the same branch as a child so I only have experience of this one - in Lincs.

Our branch and I think most have a mixed bunch of members. There are those who are mounted on expensive ponies, but most are not, and some have loan ponies. We have a few "Bransby" ponies in our branch and one competes in the teams!

The activities range from annual junior camp, (£80ish for 4 days: 2x lessons per day and full board and lodging for pony.) to rallies and XC training etc. Our rallies are only £3 which I'm sure is about the same as when I went! Other training is usually around £8 for 1.5 hrs.

The badges are organised so that a few will do them together, so you may have to wait until one comes up. Also, everything has to be done PC way which may not be what you do at home !:) There are usually training sessions for badges.