Can Sheep be used as a companion?

digging_girl

New User
Visit site
My attempts at trying to cut a long story short are non existent but I shall try my hardest! :D

I have been sharing my field with my friend for the past 3 years but unfortunately she is now selling her horse on, which means that my horse will now be friend-less. Even though they have been companions for this long they are not really 'joined at the hoof' as such. They just graze together and it's not the end of the world to one another when one goes off riding without the other. In fact neither batters an eyelid when one leaves for the day. I live on a farm so my girl is just literally a walk out the front door for me so I'm not really to keen on the idea of having someone else about and I have no plans on getting another horse sooooo is it possible to have a few sheep in the paddock with her to keep her company? My partner is worried as he has heard that sometimes horses will nibble on sheeps ears but you know what farmer folk are like once they get together and have a chinwag! Any advice or even hearing of anyone that has sheep to keep their horse company would be much appreciated.

SuperH

Visit site
I've had sheep and horses together on several occasions. Not had any problems with chewing but I've never really had 'chewy' horses.

karenm

Visit site
Not sure if this answer will help much, but I know of someone who used to keep her sheep in the same field as her horses. They weren't as company, just to try and keep the grass down a bit.

Some of the horses couldn't stay out with the sheep as they would chase them. I think its a case of try it and see if they get on, but not sure if your horse would miss other horses company.

I hope this helps a bit! :)

mightymammoth

Visit site
I'm not sure but I would say no as they are different species (I've hear that even donkeys are not suitable as companions)