Can you help???

Vickie_Minstrel

New User
Visit site
Hi, I have a 13.2 bay gelding who I love to bits but since the weather has turned yak, the school has been really sticky and i haven't been able to ride in it much in the past couple of weeks. I'm a novice and very nervous rider and was building up quite a bit of confidence on him, but when I got on tonight I was really nervous and feel like I've lost all my confidence. How come this has happened in such a short time and he hasn't put a foot wrong or done anything to make me think that hes going to run off with me or anything. I'm so fustrated with myself.... felt like I was really making progress and now I'm back to the beginning............arghhhhhhh
frown.gif
frown.gif

RunToEarth

Visit site
Its like anything. When you are doing it on a daily basis, it becomes routine and there is nothing to be scared of. because you arnt riding regularly you are thinking about the ifs and buts far too much and getting yourself into a negative frame of mind. Your pony isnt going to bolt off, he could perhaps be fresh of the lack of exercise, if this is the case why not lunge him for five minutes before you get on him, but you need to think positively.
smile.gif

the watcher

Visit site
Do you have some steady company you can ride out with, don't be alarmed if your pony is a bit more forward going when out, they all are..just stick to routes where you are confident you can keep control of the paces until you feel a bit braver

Vickie_Minstrel

New User
Visit site