CC on jumping pretty please?

daydreamer

Visit site
I got a video camera for Christmas and tried it out this morning filming some jumping. I would be very grateful for any comments about the video or the riding! I have edited so each video is only about 1 min long.

http://youtu.be/JAScX0tlup8

http://youtu.be/xUEHGOlynvA

The jumps are only tiny and i know i get it wrong sometimes (i think i tip forwards and we lose balance). The quality isn't great as my laptop struggles a bit with video so I didn't record on the highest quality setting.

Thanks!

cc14

Visit site
Im no expert, but I would say it might be worth putting up some trot poles before the jump so she takes off on the right stride and you know when to fold? Looks like she catches you off guard sometimes.

daydreamer

Visit site
Thanks for having a look, yes i should probably put a placing pole out. I am always worried about putting it in the wrong place though :( and i need to read up and see if it is safe to have poles on both sides of the jump as it is useful to be able to jump in both directions. Jumping and distances etc is not my strong point!

jalapeno

Wherever the wind takes me.. usually somewhere on
Visit site
You are very tall and slim :O No you cannot put poles either side of the jump. I think a good instructor and some grid work would be of benefit to both you and your horse. You sit nicely though! Perhaps give a bit more with your hands over the fence. All horses vary with the trot/canter poles they need.. You should practise with and you will get to know what is correct for your horse (a good instructor will also help you with this) and then you can progress onto grids.

LouS

Visit site