child riding out alone, what age?

Ibblebibble

Visit site
I know this has been done before but i can't find it!
At what age would you consider letting a child ride out alone? Sharer of daughters pony asked today, well her dad did, and i said no, too young, she is just 13. They were fine about it but it got me thinking , question is bound to be asked again and it's not something i had thought about as daughter has never wanted to ride alone (slightly older 13)

FlyingCircus

Visit site
I started riding out alone at around 13 years old.
Had a pretty reliable pony though that wasn't likely to dump me and tank off home :')

L&M

Visit site
Depends on the horse - I let my 10 yr old ride out his 13.2hh on his own for over a year until he outgrew it, but was a bomproof hack and totally trustworthy, and we have access to off road hacking straight from our yard so no traffic to contend with.

Now he is 12 yrs he has a 15hh that is mostly sensible, but can throw in the occasional buck and be spooky, so he only rides it accompanied atm. I may let him hack out on his own after a summer of getting more used to it, but will suck it and see....

Last edited:

dunkley

Visit site
I was about 12, we just didn't think twice about it in those days! I had had four years of having to ride the beach every day, as my 12.2 had a habit of taking out car headlights if they got close enough :eek: Once I got a completely traffic proof pony, there was no stopping me :) Daughter was hacking out round the farm tracks and headlands by 9 - a couple of years older before she went 'off piste' :) I always insisted she had ID tags on her, pony, and a mobile phone ............... far more than I ever had, which was 2p for a phone call!!!!!!

rowan666

Visit site