Colour genetics help.

martlin

www.martlinequestrian.co.uk
It is a bit of an idle wondering, really, but it does have its purpose, you see my OH is a farmer and is adamant what he doesn't want in our foals... It might seem pretty ridiculous to you, and it does to me, for a good horse is never the wrong colour, but as time goes by I am more and more inclined to make little concessions for the sake of a quiet life.
So, purely on colour basis, as the pedigree usefulness etc is established and we have no argument over that, I need your help.
I have a grey mare, she is by a bay stallion out of a grey mare, she has to date produced 2 foals, one greyed out from black, the other is 1 day old and will very obviously be grey but at the moment is sort of bay-ish.
1st foal was by a bay stallion, second is by a grey.
If I was to put her to another bay stallion, what sort of colour options am I faced with?

Sorry for the rambling and thanks for any help :)

Kacey88

Visit site
I'm no expert, but your mare is heterozygous for grey so her offspring will always have a 50% chance of being grey. Is this what you want to know? Do you know what colour she was before she greyed out? :)

martlin

I'm no expert, but your mare is heterozygous for grey so her offspring will always have a 50% chance of being grey. Is this what you want to know? Do you know what colour she was before she greyed out? :)

She was as far as I know dark brown/chestnutty before she greyed out. I know the 50% chance of grey, it's the other 50% I'm confuddled about :)

ETS: she couldn't have been chestnut I think, because she had black legs, am I right? I bought her at 4 years old and she was darkish grey with black legs, she's 19 and fleabitten now.

Meowy Catkin

Meow!
Visit site
She was as far as I know dark brown/chestnutty before she greyed out. I know the 50% chance of grey, it's the other 50% I'm confuddled about :)