Competing in agility (Help needed!)

seaofdreams

Visit site
Hi all,

I'm looking for some advice/help!

I have been training with my WCS for a good couple of years now, we have had the odd break but not since this time last year, we train once a week although I have asked if I can join another class too, we were both complete beginners when we started.

My dog (Sam) is not an easy dog, he is so fast but he is doing really well, our weaves are really the only thing that lets us down, mainly because he wants to do them at 100 miles an hour and well, that just doesn't work, oh and the see-saw as again going at 100mph it doesn't touch the ground and Sam just launches of the end! but he loves it so much and just enjoys it so much I'd love to do more.

I'm having really bad luck with the horses and it doesn't look like I will be out at all with them this year, so I'd really like to get the dog out competing!

Now I'm not to worried if I don't come home with firsts but I think my instructor might be.

I have asked numerous times now only to be told he isn't ready, the weaves aren't good enough, he isn't ready for courses (although we're always doing them in lessons) my positioning isn't good enough etc etc. What is confusing me is that every other dog in my lesson is out competing, yet in our last few lessons, my dog is the only one who has got around the courses first time. To me it seems we just don't fit in! I know we are not perfect but surely we have got to start somewhere?!

I also have the opportunity to compete my mum's dog too, he is also a WCS and hasn't been doing it for long as my mum has only had him 6 months after taking him on from an elderly couple that couldn't cope with him. Fred is a lot slower than Sam so running the two really helps, I run Fred first then Sam.

I feel both dogs could start to go out now and I'm fed up of being told no by my instructor so I'm going it alone!