Could anyone offer advice on a loan agreement please?

Louisejane

Visit site
Hi, I'm a bit new to this but am desperately seeking some advice.

I am not a rider but my young daughter has been for the last two years and after loaning one of the riding school ponies for six months we decided to bite the bullet and found a pony on loan with a view to buy.

The long and short of it is, the pony hasn't worked out. She was sold as "good in the school" "an ideal childs or mother/daughter share". We trialled her but only on hack and she was perfect.

We had a loan agreement in place for six months and during those six months I would pay the balance of the pony so that I would then own her at the end of the six months.

She came to us just over a week ago after I paid quite a hefty deposit, (my fault I know). Basically the pony hates the school and fights all the way. She really can only be ridden my a competent adult and is in no way a childs pony or good in the school. So, I am trying to return her.

Our loan agreement states that "A trial period of one month is agreed, during which time, the horse may be returned at the borrowers expense if judged to be unsuitable". Which she is.

I asked the owner last week about arranging to return the horse this weekend and she has refused to take her back until next weekend at the earliest and wants time to sort out a new buyer/home first.

My problem is that if I keep the horse after this weekend I am liable for the whole of January in livery fee's as well as the cost for transport back to the owner which isn't cheap!

Can anyone advise where I stand please? I have offered to return her this weekend at my expense but she has declined. I did day that I would keep the horse until next weekend but I would ask her for the livery fee's.

This is driving me mad as the owner is lovely and I know she hasn't intentionally mis-sold the horse but we have been mis-sold the horse.

Jake10

Visit site