Dead foal?

beaker1

Visit site
Just wondering if anyone could help. I have a mare (not a maiden mare) who is in foal and she's due in around a fortnight. She's been turned out since being covered and i brought her in at the begining of the month so she could foal in. However, since she has been in i've never seen the foal move only once on the day she came in did i believe i felt the foal move (was like a tennis ball rolling down my hand) ever since then there's been no other signs. Is it normal to not see any movement so later on in the pregnancy or am i best to seem veterinary advice/attention? Really worried as i'm new to all this. Thanks in advance

Magicmadge

Visit site
spend some time just watching your mare you might not be able to see it but she will certainly feel it. She will swish her tail, belly kick and generally seem agitated when foal shifts. If your worried though call your vet. Keep us updated

Alec Swan

Visit site
It would be unusual to see genuine movement from the foal. Often, with the gut moving as it does, we imagine that what we see is movement, but in truth it isn't.

If there was a dead foal within, then within 24 hours or sooner, you would be very well aware that something catastrophic had gone wrong. Inside a mare it's like an oven, and should a foal die, then the decomposition process is remarkably quick. The mare will be clearly unwell, and any rear-end inspection will have a smell which is unmistakable.

The gypsy community, many years ago, would deny the mare water all night, and then give her a bucket of frosted water in the morning. When the cold water hits the foal, THEN you see them move! I'm not suggesting that you try this though! :)

I'm quite sure OP that your mare's just fine, and that you're worrying needlessly.

Alec.

GemG

Visit site
It would be unusual to see genuine movement from the foal. Often, with the gut moving as it does, we imagine that what we see is movement, but in truth it isn't.