Difference between HorseHage and Haylage?

lisab

Visit site
I've been feeding HorseHage for about 5 years to my horse who has COPD.
It's really expensive to feed (£7 per bale, 1 bale does 2 and a half nets) but I buy it because it's really moist and so keeps him well and not puffing and/or coughing.

However. I bought 5 bales last week and the 3 that I've used have been really, really dry and the haylage is all stuck together, almost matted.

He was really lazy when I rode him yesterday and was puffing like a train.

The unbranded farmer's haylage that the feed merchant sells is £7.50 and does 5 nets. It smells really nice and he loves it, but it is a bit drier than HorseHage, so I don't know if I would be causing problems for myself if I put him back on that.

Does anyone know what the difference is between the 2 and am I just paying through the nose for a brand name when the unbranded stuff is just as good?

brighteyes

Pooh-Bah
Visit site
In a word, yes. HH is quality guaranteed but for the most part it's a dear way to buy haylage. A 3/4 round bale off the farm costs me £23 and it does 5 for about as many days. And it is beautiful. Any haylage should be moist enough not to be dusty, even if it seems dry to you. Mine is much drier this year, but still 'sticky'.

Kokopelli

Visit site
I could be wrong here but I think Horsehage is Rye grass which is bagged and stuff whereas normal haylage is like normal but has been bagged to keep the moisture in. I'm not great with feeding and stuff :p

criso

Coming over here & taking your jobs since 1900
Visit site
Horsehage is just a brand name ((when they develloped it then they registered horsehage so noone else can use it but haylage was the name used by other people using the same fermentation process but for that as brighteyes said you get guaranteed quality and content. The ryegrass one will bw ryegrass , timothy will be timothy etc.