Difficult decision?

Evil_Cookie

Visit site
Hi, I'm after some opinions on what I should do with my young mare. I've owned her a year, she's 3 going on 4, I've backed her myself and although we've had one setback after another in terms of injuries and saddles, she's starting to go really nicely for such a small amount of work. She has so much potential and I would say she's the best horse I've owned in a while. However, I'm in my second year of university and I've just been offered a placement for my third year in the USA. I'm still persuing placements in the UK too, but the USA placement is such a rare oppurtunity and I really want to go. It would be from july 2010 to july 2011. So what do I do with my mare? She's the one thing holding me back from wanting to go.
I could loan her out, but the problem would be if I couldn't find someone who rides as well as I like, I'd come back and she'd have loads of bad habits and I'd feel bad about that and have to reschool her to some extent. Or if I found a good rider then I'd come back to an amazing horse, who I had very little to do with, and I bought a youngster so I could put the work in myself, so that would be disapointing. Not to mention that I would have less of a relationship with her as I would have been gone so long.
The other option would be to put her in foal....
Cons: - cost
- having to look after two horses when I get back
- if something happened to her while carrying/giving birth to foal.
- Stunting her growth, she stands at 16.1hh now and has the potential to grow to 17hh, which I would like.
Pro's: -Having a foal from her now before starting to compete her.
- Not having to worry about finding her a rider.
- Having a foal that I could bring on when I finish uni.

I can't think of anymore...
So what do you guys think?
I feel really confused as to what I should do right now.
Crumpets and OJ if you got this far... it is breakfast time and all...
smile.gif

Munchkin

www.aloegeneration.co.uk and http