Dipping my toe into BD....

chestnut cob

community.webshots.com
I've been told by DR trainer that I have to join BD so the forms are filled out and ready to send.... Eek.

We have no points as never done affiliated before so pretty sure I'm correct in thinking I can join on a My Quest membership and do Prelim Bronze with horse on an Associate membership. Please correct me if I'm wrong?!

I seem to have the idea that I need to wear white gloves but couldn't see this anywhere in the rule book. Have I imagined it?

Any tips for a first timer?! The venue I wanted to go to for my first is only running long arena tests which I guess are prob best avoided for my first BD since I've never done one before! All advice and reassurance gratefully received! Horse is a cracking little native type who has been placed in every UA test we've done and always gets a great eventing DR score so hopefully we won't embarrass ourselves too much!

HufflyPuffly

Visit site
Gloves must be worn but BD scrapped the white/pale colour rule, so you can wear muted dark colours as well now. If you have still hands white are good as they show this off, if you're not still through your hands then dark ones can help disguise it :).

I think you're right with the My Quest and prelim bronze, but I think if you wanted to qualify for area festivals or winter regionals you have to be a full member. Area Festivals you can collect sheets from bronze, regionals is silver at Prelim.

For a first timer I say treat it no differently to unaff! The only difference is you have to wear a number disk ;), honestly aside from guaranteeing that you will have a listed judge it's the same, so breathe and relax. I quite like long arena tests as it gives you more time to prepare the movements, but it's a personal thing and if you feel more comfortable waiting for short arena tests then it's up to you, better to feel confident with a test you've ridden before for your first go :).

mrsh2010

Visit site