DIY horsebox floor replacement

Matafleur

Visit site
I'm hoping that the great and good of HHO can help with a little combined wisdom. I have a Mk1 Renault Master that needs a new floor, a hole has developed in the granulistic and the ply beneath is clearly rotten. It has a full metal platform chassis that the ply floor sits on top of. This looks very sound for the most part (from underneath) but there is a small spot that will possibly need welding which we will check when the floor is fully removed.

The rough plan is to use phenolic ply board covered with rubber matting but I'm not sure how to go about fixing everything or what thickness to use. I had a quote from a garage who said they would use 18mm board and 12mm rubber - does this sound about right? And is phenolic ply heavier then marine ply (which I think is what it currently has)? Weight is obviously a consideration for this lorry and I'd prefer not to lose any payload if possible.

I'd prefer rubber mats to granulistic this time as it's easier to check the floor but I am a bit worried about the mats moving... Should they be fixed down somehow? And do you fill in the dips in the chassis with anything? or does the ply just sit nicely on the raised parts?

How do you fix the ply to the chassis?

Sorry for all the questions, I've been quoted £575 + vat (a bit more if welding needed) by the garage which I don't think is that bad but the VAT is the killer! If we are struggling it may have to go in to be finished off but if we could get most of the way ourselves it may save us some money.

My family are farmers so we have access to the kit we should need, just need to get materials.

Any advice welcome :)

cundlegreen

Visit site