Do I keep him?

loopeepee

Visit site
Right, I've had my horse a month now. But reality is beginning to dawn on me, and I no longer know what to do. I am a student, on my gap year, and Im going to Argentina in February for 10 weeks. I am having to finace a large portion of this - the other part a sponsor is kindly paying.

Now please dont think of me as someone who has taken on a horse without thinking of the consequences. I have had horses in the past, and managed to pay for them by myself - this was the only condition that I was allowed to keep them. I do not get an allowance - I have always worked hard and managed.
However, my conscience (and mother!) is beginning to kick in.
I have 2 major jobs at the moment, plus hostessing work for Toyota (like I'm doing tomorrow), grooming work and also babysitting. Therefore I do bring in the money, but as we all know . . horses are bottomless pitts.
I have also just been accepted at University, and therefore need to earn as much as possible because my living expenses etc will be financed my myself. I know I will be able to work when I get back from Argentina - however, every little helps.
At the moment, my mum - thank you so much mum - is paying the £20 p/w DIY livery, plus one bale of shavings, but everything is else is paid for by myself. Luckily, his owner is an instructor in our local PC, and therefore gives me lesson. About once a week tops. Im very greatful of this, as it means I dont have to pay someone else, and she likes watching someone else ride her horse.