Does he need the vet?

showjump

Visit site
Last night my horse managed to get his leg caught in his lead rope. Neither string nor quick realse clip on the rope snapped. I managed too unclip him, he was all in a panic poor lad.

Leg has rope burn mark just above the knee, which i hosed and put alovera soothing gel on. Gave him a bute in his tea last night.

This morning he's sore too touch it obviously, but its swelled up alot. Both above and below the knee, just worried he might need the vet? Or shall i carry on cold hosing etc?

Thanks, worried mum here!!
confused.gif

lauraandjack

Visit site
Is he lame? It is likely to be quite bruised and sore obviously. Speaking as a vet I would probably advise you to do exactly what you are doing i.e bute and cold hosing anyway.

If he's not lame I would carry on as you are and turn him out in a small area if he's sensible, this will help the swelling to disperse. Otherwise give him some hand walking to keep it moving.

If he is significantly lame then get vet to see it sooner rather than later.

spike123

Visit site
as it is a burn and burns are basically open to infection then yes definitely call the vet. The swelling may suggest that there is deeper tissue damage of some kind.

kirstie

Visit site
I would call the vet out if i were you. The few burns like that i have seen have resulted in proud flesh if not treated.
One of them didn't even look too bad and now has a hideous scar.
I just think its better to be safe than sorry sometimes. (and i'm not one of those people who calls the vet out a lot at all!)

gummybear

Visit site
Why dont you just call the vet - explain what has happened and what you are doing to treat it - and they will let you know whether they think they need to come out or not.

showjump

Visit site