Dressage Report and Horrid Judge

FMM

www.absolutelymad.co.uk
My son (who is just 10) and his pony who we have had for two months, did their second ever dressage test at the weekend.

The pony has never done dressage before and was previously mainly ridden by adults with children being put on board just before the class (he is a show pony by trade!)

He did the intro test which was OK - he rode nicely and Harry went obediently. Then went into the Prelim - I was reading the test for him as my son only rides twice a month due to living 150 mile round trip from the pony and he had only ridden through the test once before. In hindsight, probably a big ask, but we had practiced it on the carpet at home, so he knew where he was going and the movements.

Did all the trot work pretty well (for 5s and 6s from a pretty hard marking judge), including half 10m circles and return to the track etc. Unfortunatley, the pony broke in his 20m circle at E (or B - I forget which!) canter and my son was muddled and rather than continuing his 20m circle, he ended up at A. I asked the judge to ring the bell to signal error of course, so I could get my son back to me and we could ride the movement again. However,the judge did NOT ring the bell. So then I had to try to work out where to start from, with my poor son still trying to remember where the circle was. He knew there was a change of rein, so when I said H, he made a beeline for it, rather than going around the arena. Again, I asked for the bell to be rung, and again nothing.

So I STILL could not stop the pony and get them to pick up a point where we both knew what we were doing. My son was getting progressively more flustered (but still determined to get his change of rein, when the judge finally rang the bell and said eliminated!!!!