E-bay etiquette . . . Help!

Muchadoaboutnothing

Visit site
Ok when there is a starting price but no 'buy it now' price, how the blooming heck do you know how much you should bid?! I'm new to e-bay and watching an item that only has one bid on it, should I just bid slightly over the other person? Does the seller just not sell if the bids are too low? Don't want to be seen to be taking the pi$$! I asked if they had a buy it now but hasn't said.

Help please!

FanyDuChamp

Visit site
If there is no buy it now price then just bid what ever you are willing to pay for the item. No one will be insulted, if a seller has a particular price in mind they will put a reserve on their item. Then if you bid it will show your bid and show whether you have met the reserve of not.

An example is I bought my daughter a Tshirt she hated it, I ebayed it and it sold to the US for 2x what I paid for it! But I have also sold things that have really disappointed on the price they finally went for, it is always a gamble.But fun.

Hope that is clear. Enjoy Ebay there are great bargains to be had.
FDC

Last edited:

Paddy Irish

Visit site
It should say under the box where you place the bid what the minimum bid must be and also if there is already a bid on the item then you can't do a buy it now, as it's not fair on the person who's already bid if you get my drift...

rubyrumba

Visit site
Just bid what you are willing to pay. Say the itemis only on £5 and you would pay £30, then ebay willbid on your behalf if anyone else bids, it doesn't go straight to £30,just a bit more than the highest bidder. Hope that helps, quite hard to explain!

riding_high

Visit site
you set a maximum limit in your head and then you put that as your maximum bid, others will bid over you (possibly) and then you can either keep bidding or stop. you might win it or you might not. it's an auction so you have to bid up to your maximum limit that you are willing to pay for it.

Sarah Sum1

Visit site