Endurance help and advice needed

sarah23

Visit site
Someone is borrowing my little horse to do an Endurance comp in 2 weeks time a 32k (pony is fairly fit, has been team chasing).

I have offered to crew for the day, but I have never done Endurance before so have no idea what I have to do or exactly what my horse has to do. I know it has to have a vet check and I know the longer ones have a few vet checks, but apart from that I have no idea and no idea what the vet check involves.

Could someone please fill me in to what to expect, is it just the fastest ones round is it like a bogey time ? I have tried looking on the Endurance but i'm nun the wiser. It is for a riding club so is it totally different.

Sorry for all the questions but I can't get hold of the people that's taking my horse until next weekend to ask.

monkeybum13

Visit site
First of all it is not the fastest time is the winner. Its based on average speeds and the horses heartbeat.

On a 32k ride there'll only be a vetting at the start and and the end (30 mins before you ride and 30mins after).

For crew you'll meet the rider at specific points and offer water to horse (and rider!) to drink and you might want to take some bottle of water so you can 'splosh' the horse down. Easiest way is to hand the bottles to the rider and they can pour the water down the horse's neck.

If you can get your farrier out a few days before the ride then do. Before the 1st vetting you will have to have your horse checked by the farrier, nothing more frustrating to others than waiting for someone to have a full set of shoes done!

Most important thing is to have fun and enjoy it, endurance people are definitely the most friendly and helpful :D

spookypony

Visit site