Equissage Machines...who uses them etc...

JLav

Visit site
I have used an equissage machine on a horse with a back problem and it didn't make any difference whatsoever. Have also had alot a clients who have used them who claim that their horses are better for it though as a trainer I can't see it's made any difference in their horses at all!!
It may well work for some but I personally wouldn't pay the money for one.
I also have heard 2 very reknowned equine physios advise that the cheaper hand held units like the Argos one mentioned do as good a job but couldn't say if that really is the case or not!

Theresa_F

Visit site
We had a demo with one on Cairo.

The old boy is now getting a bit stiff behind and bunny hops in canter until he gets going, which can take 30 mins of warm up some days.

We did a loose school session after the equissage had been used and he was much looser out of the box and on his first canter more forward going and hardly hopped.

He also seemed to really enjoy it - stood there with his lip curled making his goofy - I love this face.

What struck us was that my OH and I are very busy people and some days have limited time due to work going t*ts up during the week, and/or one of us having to do two horses due to the other being stuck at work.

We said we could put it on Cairo for 20 mins whilst doing jobs and then give him a shorter exercise session on those days and still keep him ticking over as his warm up time would be reduced.

If the old boys continues to stiffen up over winter, we will seriously be considering one - there goes our christmas pressies to each other and our skiing - but if it makes him feel good it is worth it.

Beanyowner

Visit site
[ QUOTE ]
I should do some proper research on the machine and it's action before you do any more guessing or just read the comments of people who have had success with it and therefore know what they are talking about.

[/ QUOTE ]