Evading contact/sideways head carriage...help?

Apalacia01

Visit site
I am loaning a 5 y/o ex-racehorse out here in the States who has done some basic schooling, and need some advice (yes, I will be getting lessons, but I am a poor student, and would like to try and get some basic work done first).

Anyway, he was in a rubber, non-jointed (rather thick) snaffle (not loose ring) which was causing him to open his little mouth a lot and evade to the side. I had a search for a loose ring, but couldn't find one, so tried a conventional jointed snaffle, which I found he did stop snatching in...but...still, if I tried to take up a slightly firmer contact, he would either try to run out of it, or stick his head up and sideways and open his mouth. Stuck a flash on, headshook for 5 minutes and was on the cusp of threatening to rear, and not moving forward at all (and he is forward going). its all well and good riding with the world's lightest contact (washing lines) but I would like to be able to try getting him a bit more together, without the open mouth thing and evasion. Teeth have been checked according to owner, but I will mention it again. (Seems most obvious)

Otherwise, any ideas? He starts to work nicely....and then I either ask for canter (very exciting!) or walk (jog, jog, jog).

Any ideas great HHO people? Or bit changing? Going to lunge him in a bungee on Friday to show him that work isn't that bad (loose, he has no neck muscle).

Thanks, and if I am doing something blatently wrong, please shoot me!

Apalacia01

Visit site
Like a fulmer? But without the loose ring attachment? Found a couple of those, but the problem was they didn't have the little tab things (I AM SOOOO bad with names) to keep attached.... In mouth, lozenge or just jointed? He does play a lot so would think lozenge better ....
Thanks for response
smile.gif

Kenzo

Visit site