Experiences of new riders

Biscotte

Visit site
Hello,

I'm an adult beginner, I'm 52, I started this September and so far, apart from some aches and pains its been great. I'm in France and I'm interested to know what others experiences of starting was/is like in other places and what sort of things I might expect in the future.

I've started at a club my daughters' been at for nearly five years so I know the place and people a bit which helps. The club is a not-for-profit association which is quite common here. There are about 20 club ponys, and 40 horses plus owned horses. There's two menages, an arena, some woods with a cross track in them and a sort of mini-racetrack. It's in the city so no outside space. There's a circuit of competitons: CSO (jumping), dressage, cross, voltige and poney games (I think this is called mounted games in the UK) so there's often something on at the weekend.

I've done five lessons with four different horses, so far I've done walking, rising and sitting trot, stopping with and without reins, some direction work and of course getting on and off - from the ground. We're expected to get there half an hour before the lesson to get the horses ready, brush them, clean their feet and tack up. Everyone except me has ridden before when they were kids and there's a strong element of expecting you to just get on with things - this is fine for me as I have had my daughter to help and, apart from some nips from a very large horse last week, I have managed to get them ready without incident.