Feeding does not have to be complicated!

LEC

Opinions are like bum holes, everyone has one.
www.youtube.com
Do we make feeding too complicated?

The horse has not evolved in the last 100 years and if anything they have far easier lives but have we been taken over by the access to media and advertising and thus making our lives more complicated?

I feel people do not feed enough good quality fibre (which should be 2% of their body weight) and then buy too much hard feed and rarely have a clue what is in that hard feed or what it does.

Thoughts?

Cortez

Tough but Fair
Visit site
My thoughts are the same as your thoughts, or even more so. I have horses who work for a living (display and film), and not one of them has had any hard feed at all for over 3 years. BUT...they are all easy keeping breeds (mostly Spanish or Friesian), and we have exceptional grazing and hay. We don't feed any supplements either. Obviously many horses will need to be fed according to their body type, developmental stage and workload, but really, it's not all that complicated. Modern marketing has a lot to answer for.

MagicMelon

Visit site
Probably we do make it too complicated, I think just because there are so many different feeds on the market. I know some people who just feed their horses "whatever" because so and so uses it for their horse, I find that a bit weird. I think everyone should put research into what and why they feed their horses. Personally, I love researching feed and feeding what I feel the horse needs, I'm quite sad that way I think! My mum certainly thinks I'm odd for enjoying reading about horse feed... I'm bored right now as my horses are all doing well on their feed so I haven't been able to change it for a few years! BUT I may have a new horse coming... yey research time!

PolarSkye

Visit site