field maintenance advice please...

L&M

Visit site
In anticipation of spring (only 7 weeks until April - yipee!), I have invested in a roller and chain harrow to put behind my quad. I have been advised that you harrow first, then roll. Is that the right way round, as I thought the reason for harrowing was to pull out dead grass and airate the soil, so doesn't rolling over after prevent this? Also, what are the best ground conditions to do this work?
Thanks for any advice.

MrsMozart

Just passing through...
Visit site
I'm new to this as well, but I understood it to be roll and then harrow! That's what we were planning on doing.

I'm wondering when to get the sheep in....

I'll be interested in what people say about topping...
confused.gif

Slightly Foxed

Visit site
Harrowing drags out thatch (dead grass) and weak growth, breaks up clods of earth and generally levels out any poaching. Harrowing allows air and light to get to the base of the grass, which encourages healthy, dense grass growth. Harrowing in the Spring uproots seedling weeds and creates space for healthy grass to grow. It can also be used to promote grass seed contact with the ground after over-seeding.

Rolling also helps to level the ground and repair some of the damage caused by hooves. Rolling also encourages the plan to spread so helping to promote spring growth.

Don't over do rolling especially on clay soils or the soil will become compacted and won't drain properly and you'll get increased surface run-off and reduced grass growth.

Harrowing and rolling are best carried out in March but only if the ground conditions are dry enough for a tractor to pass without causing ground damage.

Slightly Foxed

Visit site
[ QUOTE ]
Roll then harrow, otherwise you break your harrows........
smile.gif

[/ QUOTE ]

No, no, harrow then roll. If my clay soil doesn't break my harrow, nothing will!

Slightly Foxed

Visit site
[ QUOTE ]

confused.gif

[/ QUOTE ]