Finding a sharer for a very green horse or just a tough winter?

I.Camilla

Visit site
My 5yo conny was backed as a 4yo (not much handling till this point) and has proven hard work when I purchased him a few days after being rebacked as a 5yo.

I adore him and all though I was expecting a very green horse, I wasn't aware how sensitive he was going to be. I am in my last year at university and I was hoping to still keep him living out as I am only there 3 days a week, then home to ride for the other 4. But with the days off, he is just too fresh. He is all vet checked and okay, but very sensitive in his back. I long reined him and rode after a few days off, but we were off rodeo style the second I got on and chucked off after a failed attempt to jump the electric fence. Thank god he doesn't scare me or I wouldn’t have got back on, I lunged him some more and got back on with some on ground help and he was okay... But obviously how an earth would I find a sharer I can trust to ride him whilst I'm at university?

I wouldn't charge them, but it would just be maybe 2 of the days and then I ride 4 so he is ridden 6 days a week. I am thinking of all the riders I know and don't think I could bring myself to let someone else ride him when not everyone would persist to correct him when he has his moments.

My other option is to bankrupt myself and take him uni on the DIY livery. But the turn out is with a lot of geldings and he is a b*gger to catch. I don't know how he will settle and my fields have been set out so if he is having a temperamental day, I can get help and section smaller parts off to catch him.

Last options is if I can't offer enough work for him to keep him happy, selling. But all though he doesn't scare me, his not exactly what everyone would be looking for I could imagine and I know he will be fine come next summer when I can move him home onto a yard I know and trust, along with being able to ride him everyday.