First competition... what to do?

Evil_Cookie

Visit site
Oh dear... I know I'm worrying over nothing, but... well... I was looking forward to friday, my first ever competition on Ruby... hopefully... if I can muster the courage to go. I've had her three years nearly, I used to compete every weekend with my previous horse so you can imagine she's knocked my confidence. So anyway was planning to go on friday to a christmas show jumping competition... only just looked properly at the schedule. There's only a 1ft 9, 2ft and 2ft 9 and above normal classes... the others are either pairs or top score. I've got no one to ride with, though pairs would be fun and I've never done top score before. What should I do? I was planning to do the 2ft 6 as if the jumps are to small she just gallops over them, and much bigger and I'd be petrified.

I still want to go but I'm not sure what to do... I had picked out matching tinsel already and everything
laugh.gif

Any suggestions?

EC

samp

Visit site
As you have not been to a show with her before I would stick to the 2'. She will need time to settle down and check out the new surroundings. You also do not want to overface yourself and loose your confidence all over. My horse jumps 3'6" - 3'9" at home and at show recently we just did 2'3" as it was her first show

Vicki1986

Visit site
id do the 2ft 6 only if you are 100% comfortable (i.e. jumping around 3ft at home) as you say if they are smaller she will just gallop round - which you dont want at your first show

GO!! and have lots of fun! take a photo with your groovy tinsel and post it for us to see
laugh.gif

vicm2509

Visit site
Aww bless you with your matching tinsel.

I would got for 2ft. If you are a bit nervous the jumps may look a bit bigger than they really are anyway. Its better than going for the bigger ones and loosing more confidence.