First hunter trials?

ridersince2002

Visit site
I might be doing a hunter trials on 7th Nov at Pachesham (surrey), would be our first xc. Proably just 50cms class to start with as i seem to lack a little confidence over fixed fences :S
Just wondering if anyone has been there? What are the jumps like? How scary are they? Anyone have any pictures?

Pony is 12.2hh and very strong :) im 14, shes 16, its not her first xc, she used to do alot and also hunt before i started riding her :) but if im scared she will be too so if the jumps there are scary i might wait till next year and go somewhere else.
Basically is it a good first xc?
Xc colours or tweed?
And does anyone know if there might be any bit rules for this? Thats probably a silly question but ive never done any xc at all and its better to know in advance than be told i cant do it on the day!
And another question: if we got enough refusals to be eliminated would they let us finish the course or would we have to come off it?

So many questions, sorry!
And thank you if you answer any of them! :p

Honey08

Waffled a lot!
Visit site
Hi,

I can't help you with any tips about that particular course, but generally 50cms should be fine for you.

Hunter trials used to be ridden in tweed, but nowadays everyone rides in xc colours. You will more than likely have to have a hat with a flexible peak (ie, not the velvet SJ ones) that you put a hat cover on, and you will have to wear a back protector. Most run with an optimum time system, where you get faults for going too fast or slow. Others have a partially timed course.

Most hunter trails don't have bit restrictions. It should say on the entry form if there are.

You've got nearly a month, so see if you can do a farm ride or xc lesson somewhere in the meantime. Practice going through water (streams out hacking) and up and down hills etc.