First ODE, six weeks to practice on new pony, Tips?

Durhamchance

Visit site
I've been able to secure a ride on a lovely competition pony and his owner has persuaded me to join her at a local low level (60cm) ODE in July. I've never done any dressage before and whilst I'm excited to have a go, I'll be mortified if I muck it up completely:D
The test is intro C, I've learnt it and ridden through it once. Pony is a jumper and hadn't done much in the way of dressage. We need to work on our circles, but in practice it didn't feel too bad. I'm booking a lesson with a dressage instructor in a couple of weeks.

I'm going on an adult camp (without pony) in a few weeks and one of the trainers is a BE coach, so I should be able to get some good lessons in during that. We're also going to try and get me and pony out to a clinic or local competition beforehand so it won't be our first outing together.

Other than schooling at home and practicing in the meantime, is there anything else I can or should be doing to improve our chances? I'm quite happy about the jumping phases, it's ponys' strong suit and I've done showjumping before (the x country is being ridden over working hunter and arena eventing fences)

Orangehorse

Visit site
Has the pony done any cross country? If not it would be a good idea to find a cross country course and have a little practice over things like ditches and water, nothing very big so it is easy. You always need to bear in mind that it should be easy and fun for horse and rider! Sometimes a good show jumper finds cross country fences a bit of a puzzle until they learn that they are just another fence to jump. Also if you can practice doing a X country course, so he gets the idea of jumping, cantering to the next across a field, jumping and cantering on.