Foals - swinging?

S_N

Visit site
LOL Shell, I'm having images of trying to pick H up by his front fetlocks and swinging him round my head
ooo.gif
crazy.gif
a136.gif

dunc_n_toby

Visit site
maybe I speak a different language or it's not common practise anymore?
when I was a bearn the farmer used to 'throw/swing' his foals to the ground, similar to the way cow boys do.

S_N

Visit site
OH My goodness me - I've never come across that in this country!! Pillar tying hmmmm is that not considered to be dangerous now? Though I do understand the principle and it certainly DOES teach a horse that pulling back is futile!

S_N

Visit site
[ QUOTE ]
Erm Denver might be a randy little sod but he's FAR too young to know about things like swinging!!
tongue.gif

[/ QUOTE ]

FOCLMFAO!!!!!!

Christmas_Kate

Visit site
I HAD to read this, I was intruiged, I had visions of rude things going on...
anyway, never heard of either, and i should imagine if you did so you would probably get done for cruelty....

dunc_n_toby

Visit site
Well whilst out hunting last season I definately spoke to a girl who'd swung her foal whilst on it's mother. . . . just assumed it was normal practise?

Enfys

Visit site
I am probably wrong here, but I thought swinging a horse referred to tying or looping a long rope around a solid post and letting the horse pull against the pole rather than the handler who is holding the loose end of the rope.

I'm sure someone will correct me.

LauraBR

Visit site
I thought swinging a foal was tying them up to something solid to teach them to respect being tied to something? Not throwing them to the ground?

My practical foal knowledge is limited to say the least though...

tinker512

Visit site
[ QUOTE ]
duno thats why I asked. . . . I'm hoping to breed my first foalie so needed to know.

[/ QUOTE ]

...well I think you will need to know alot more!!!

S_N

Visit site