Formula 4 Feet and Magnesium Oxcide.

legaldancer

Visit site
I feed my laminitic formula 4 feet, mainly as a balancer and to hopefully keep the gut flora happy. Her feet have been damaged by laminitis but the horn quality isn't bad, ie not crumbly etc.

I have read on here about giving mag ox as a supplement to laminitics and wondered if it would do any harm to give her this also. I understand if they already receive sufficient magnesium in their diet it can't do any harm to over supplement as it were. I think F4F already contains some, but hope some knowledgeable folk on here could help. Would I just be wasting my money?

She is also is receiving salt daily, and is NOT a good doer.

Last edited:

tallyho!

Following a strict mediterranean diet...
Visit site
Well, I am no expert but I feel that as a supplement, F4F has far too much of EVERYTHING in it adding mag ox is potential liver overload!

It markets itself as having mega amounts of bio active ingredients but a horse cannot actually use all of this.

Some of it is just urinated out, some excreted through sweat and poo. The rest just accumulates in the liver and receptor sites causing blockages.

Not just this supplement but some others too. Unless you know what you are supplementing, how do you know what you are adding or taking away?

If you know your horses daily requirements, then that is some way of knowing. Relying on Dr. eustace is not wise in my opinion.

May I suggest getting your forage tested so you do not waste money on generic supplements that claim to work miracles on your poorly horse. Then you will know exactly what you need and what you don't... Most often it is more important to know what you do NOT need.

Now with magnesium, you could actually be adding too little! I do not know the answer without knowing how much is being provided in feed and forage. The amount in F4F is tiny actually.