Go with your gut or go with the vet?

saddlesore

Visit site
I have a 4yo h/w cob living out in this soggy and muddy Scottish winter! He's barefoot. All well until around a week or so ago when he came in 1/10 lame (at worst, very occasional short stride behind) he has had time off but no change. No heat/swelling etc. Vet said need to start nerve blocking. However I'm not happy having needles in his joints unless totally necessary. My gut is to leave it longer and see if it resolves itself. Thoughts?

Greylegs

Visit site
I'm no expert in these things, but I've always tended to be a gut reaction sort of person, so I think I'd give him a bit longer. Have you had someone look at his feet? Or he might just have slipped in the boggy ground and given himself a bit of a strain. I agree that nerve blocks are a last resort.

Charlie007

Visit site
I always listen to my vet but in your circumstances I would possibly consider leaving him for a little while longer. He may have pulled something in the mud and it's taking a little longer to sort itself because of the ground. Perhaps give him another week and review x

saddlesore

Visit site
Thanks GL. My gut is a deep bruise or a pulled muscle somewhere from a slip in the mud. I'm going to ask my farrier to pop by incase there's a deep abscess or something brewing. Just find the vets want to jump to blocks/X-rays these days 😧

Charlie 007 that's my plan, although will give him a couple of weeks unless the farrier finds something or he gets worse.

be positive

Visit site