Going to see a horse next weekend - advice/tips needed

teapot

Visit site
Going to see a horse next weekend, with the aim of helping owner out once a week - exercising him and just general help around the yard.

So as I'm very new to this whole "going to see a horse thing" any little tips and snippets of advice?

Owner has been very upfront and honest about the horse which is nice - seems really nice and I personally think owners are half the battle. So do I treat it like if I was going to buy him so:

see him caught/tacked up etc? See him ridden first? Should I both flat & jump him?

And on the stable management side - what sort of stuff should I ask? any set things that need to be done? Latest or earliest time for bringing him in?

So yeah a dummies guide to what to ask would be great thanks

Parkranger

Visit site
I think if you're just meeting at the weekend find out basic things:

Does she want you to hack out or school or both?
What does she do with said horse herself?
Horses basic routine (if he/she has one!)

You also need to tell her what things you want to do - if you enjoy jumping she may not want horse jumped ..... good to get these things out in the open sooner rather than later!

teapot

Visit site
Good luck Pixie!

Have already chatted to owner about what I like doing, what she does with the horse plus a couple of other things regarding what he's like at feeding time

fjudge

Visit site