H&H Article Re. Breaking horses...

showing jacket which one?!

• Total voters

severnmiles

Visit site
Just read the article regarding 'making young horses', one guy made a comment that most people either can't or won't break horses.

I've broken 20 odd and its my preferred way of doing things, you get to know them, what they like, they have no bad habits and I find the bond and trust is far stronger between the two of you.

So...do or would you break your own or someone elses horse?

Henmen

Visit site
Im in the process of breaking my 4 yr old mare, im a complete novice, never done it in my life, and our top dressage rider and trainer said im doing a great job today!!

I cant afford to buy a ready made good horse, so im having to do it myself, and given the choice of a 3/4 yr old or a 12 yr old, id take the youngsters again tomorrow
smile.gif

ihatework

Visit site
I've never done one totally by myself before, but have done a couple whereby I have had a more experienced person to help me and have ridden a number of just backed youngsters.

So my current horse will be my first one I do myself next year (although I will enlist a helping hand from a couple of friends as you do really need 2 people), this is all providing that when the time comes I have the time to devote to it. If I hit difficulties I will invest in professional help as early mistakes can be costly in the long run.

ihatework

Visit site
It is indeed, he will be 3 next May and over the last month has really started to fill out! Really looking forward to it now, especially as my main horses is a cripple and I have nothing to compete atm.

Have you had any interest in Rhi?

riotgirl

Visit site